top of page

Recipe of the Month




I discovered this recipe on TikTok (my new favorite place to find recipes) and since it’s one of my hubby’s favorite restaurants to go to when he’s traveling for work, I thought I’d give it a try. It is SO good….so good for you….and takes about 15 minutes to make.


I can’t recall which creator posted this recipe, so I do apologize.


PF CHANG LETTUCE WRAPS


· 1 lb. ground chicken

· 1 small onion, diced

· 1 tbsp. sesame oil

· 1 tbsp. ginger, finely chopped

· 1 tbsp. garlic, minced

· 2 tbsp. rice wine vinegar

· 4 tbsp. Hoisin sauce

· Soy sauce to taste

· Chili Garlic Sauce or other hot sauce to taste (optional)

· 1 8oz. can diced Water Chestnuts

· Butter lettuce or Iceberg lettuce

· Green onions, sliced (optional)


Add enough oil (I used canola oil) to coat the bottom of pan. Over medium-high heat, cook the chicken/turkey.


While the meat cooks, add remaining ingredients – except water chestnuts, green onion & lettuce – to a small bowl or measuring cup (for easy pouring).


Once meat is browned & cooked through, add the sauce and cook on medium/low until it thickens.


Turn off heat and add water chestnuts & green onion and stir to coat.

Serve with lettuce.


Notes:

As with all my recipes, I like to include my additions/notes/suggestions.

  • I have a hard time finding ground chicken, so I use ground turkey.

  • I added garlic powder to the meat, because I can’t stand the smell of meat cooking without spices.

  • I always forget to buy green onions at the store, so although the original recipe calls for it, I have made it optional for this post.

  • The original recipe calls for butter lettuce, which I used the first time I made it. It wasn’t crunchy enough to suit the hubby and I, so I opted for Iceberg lettuce (which is considerable cheaper too!).

  • I usually double the recipe because it’s great for lunches (just pack the meat into a microwavable bowl & put the lettuce into a Ziploc bag). I serve the meat in a small bowl with a spoon, lettuce on the side (rather than assembling them ahead of time).

  • One final note…the last time I made this I forgot to mix all the sauce ingredients in a small bowl/measuring cup….I simply added each ingredient to the meat mixture one at a time. It made NO difference to how scrumptious this dish is.


Enjoy!

-AJ

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page